Odanak Fort: The Past Revisited
Started in 2010, Odanak Fort: The Past Revisited is an archaeological project that aims to find a fortified village built around 1704 close to the shore of the St. Francis River. Its discovery would be a historical precedent in North America: it was the only fortification ordered by the King of France Louis XIV, built by a French and Abenakis military contingent and occupied by an Aboriginal population.
This unifying project generated positive economic, cultural and tourist benefits for the museum as well as for the community of Odanak and the Centre-du-Québec region.
This three-year project is financed through the Museums Assistance Program of the Department of Canadian Heritage, Aboriginal Heritage project.
Fort Odanak, 1704-1759. The search for traces of a fortified abenaki village.
Relive the history of this unique fort, explore its physical remains and learn about the Abenakis First Nations in this new online exhibition developed by the Musée des Abénakis.
Discover the Virtual Exhibition!